My Favorite Television Shows

My taste in television shows is very diverse. I have such an extensive list of shows that I remain loyal to that when a new show comes out that I like, I have to actually work a new show around my regular shows on the DVR. Among my list of shows is: Dr. Phil, Grey’s Anatomy, Sex and the City, Snooki and JWOWW, Catfish, Keeping Up with the Kardashians and Teen Mom. As you can see, my shows are rather distasteful for the most part and many times I’ve questioned why I fill my mind with so much junk and drama. I really just find my release through them.

Each show I have entertains me in its own way. Dr. Phil exposes me to real-life issue and solutions. I’ve found many of his shows relatable to my life in some form or another and that’s something I can appreciate. He also brings on guest to his shows that people are interested in hearing from such as Casey Anthony’s parents, Trayvon Martin’s parents, and other high profile case guests. He brings on people with different disorders and always offers his guest help. I love Dr. Phil!

Grey’s Anatomy and Sex and the City are the only fictional shows I like to watch. I got hooked on Grey’s Anatomy about 4 years ago and I’ve remained loyal since then. It’s a show about doctors who work at a Seattle Grace Hospital and it gives its audience a little bit of everything. You see medical stories, love stories, drama, and humor. It keeps me on my toes. As for Sexy and the City, it’s pretty much my dream life. It’s about 4 girl best friends who live in NYC and we see all the life events they go through such as boyfriends, marriages, babies, jobs, break ups, phases, and the list goes on. The show stopped recording a few years ago, but I always watch the reruns and enjoy them the same. I can picture me and my friends living their life one day. A girl can dream!

Now all the other reality TV shows I’m hooked on are just straight junk! They are humorous, obnoxious and raw. They provide nothing to teach me except make me laugh and fry my brain. I always wonder what’s so entertaining about watching how other people live their regular lives, and it’s really dumb, but it provides me an escape from my own reality which at time can be a bit overwhelming. These one hour shows give me people to talk crap about without worrying about hurting anyone’s feelings or feeling guilty about.

I think it’s safe to say that I am a TV addict. Even though these are simply my favorite shows, I easily get caught up in almost any reality TV show. I’ll watch anything from animal documentaries to food documentaries to baby documentaries and then finish the day off watching America’s Funniest Home Videos.

Leave a comment