Introduction

In my portfolio you will find a composition of different young adolescent literature related material from reflections, to teaching ideas, book lists and many other related material. This portfolio would serve as a great guide and tool in my future classroom because I could reflect back on studies and theories that support the integration of young adult literature in the classroom.

Young adult literature is such an important factor in the classroom because as educators we should be finding ways to hook our students into the power of reading, something the system is lacking today. My favorite part of my portfolio would have to be my journal articles because I learned a lot about how students learn through young adult books and the struggles our education system faces today by not providing enough access to them in school and discouraging students from reading outside the classroom.

Leave a comment