Chapter Six

22. According to your textbook, why does “humor matter?” Do you know good funny books for kids? What makes them funny? Did you ever have a “funny” teacher? Explain.

According to the textbook, humor is essential for the survival of educators and students believe that young people need laughter just as much if not more as adults do. I remember growing up, I enjoyed Shel Silverstein books. His poems were humorous and fun and the kind you could re-read over and over again. His goofy poetry never held any particular meaning except to cause laughter and I appreciated that. I believe nowadays students are into the book series “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.” These books are an escape for children whether they need the escape or just a good laugh. I remember my Spanish teacher in 11th grade was hilarious! She was an open-book and she was not shy about letting us into her personal life. I remember one time in class she confessed to us that over the weekend she got really bad diarrhea on her way home from a friend’s house and she thought she could make it. Instead, she ended relieving herself in the car and when she got home her husband had to hose her down. She always started class with an embarrassing story about herself which helped lightened the mood of the class and helped her bond with us.

Leave a comment